top of page
Search

Building for Another 100 Years - A new floor, a new tool, and a new skill

Remember that hardwood floor I wanted to salvage in the main floor bathroom? That didn't work out so well. I spent hours on my hands and knees scraping off old linoleum and glue. I could see that there was some staining around the toilet, but I went ahead and hired my floor guy to come in to sand, fill, and finish them, thinking that the stains would come out once they were sanded. When he got finished and I looked at it, I knew it was going to be a $300 do-over.

It ended up being a very fortunate do-over, not only for the structure of the house for the next 100 years, but I love the new tile floors, I got a new tool, and I learned a new skill!


As we tore up the hardwood floor it became apparent that the subfloor was also compromised. Our first clue was almost falling through the rotted 100 year old wood that had obviously supported a leaky toilet for God knows how long.


Matt got the unfortunate job of removing the rotting wood. A new 3/4 inch subfloor was added.

Then a layer of cement backer board.



The next step was to install the tile, which meant we would need a tile saw. Matt did the research and determined that this 10 Amp, 7 inch Tile Saw with Sliding Table from Harbor Freight would accommodate the 12" X 24" large format tile that we would be using in the bathroom and get us through the additional tiling that would need to be done in the kitchen and remaining bathrooms in the house. It worked great...it always feels like Christmas when I get a new tool and learn how to use it!!


Matt helped me get started with the first couple of rows and make the cuts around the toilet. Once I got the hang of it, I took over and finished the project. We used the QEP Lash Tile Leveling System, which uses clips and wedges that level, align, space and hold tile in place to prevent lippage and ensure a consistent finish. The flat clips make sure the grout lines are even and neighboring tile is level. The wedges hold the tile at an even height. I would highly recommend this leveling system anyone doing a DIY tile project.


Twenty-four hours later, the grout lines were filled with a non-sanded grey grout and the toilet put back in place. Now that I have completed my first tile project, I am excited to try my new skill with the shower surround, the remaining bathrooms and the backsplash in the kitchen.


If all goes well, I should have a completed bathroom in a couple weeks, once the plumber comes back from his hunting trip. Can't wait!!

89 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Kitchen - Part 3

My son, Matthew, arrived two weeks ago today from Arizona to help with the house renovation. We have been working non-stop and I'm amazed at how much we've gotten done, not only in the kitchen, but w

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page